Knowledge stops Dementia

The relevance of dementia becomes clear in these statistics: 1.5-2.0 million people affected in Germany, 10 million in Europe and 35.5 million worldwide in 2016. The forecast for 2050 is 115 million worldwide. How can dementia be prevented and what lifestyle-oriented forms of treatment are available? How and where do I gain competence on these topics?

Learn more

Knowledge stops Dementia

The relevance of dementia becomes clear in these statistics: 1.5-2.0 million people affected in Germany, 10 million in Europe and 35.5 million worldwide in 2016. The forecast for 2050 is 115 million worldwide. How can dementia be prevented and what lifestyle-oriented forms of treatment are available? How and where do I gain competence on these topics?

Learn more

What is Dementia?

“Dementia” is a generic term for over 60 previously known forms of memory impairment; the best-known and most common form is “Alzheimer’s dementia”.

Learn more

Lifestyle and Brain & Body

Neither the age nor the genes are the cause of Alzheimer's disease, but a deficit in various aspects of life, which usually only becomes apparent in old age. And how is all this connected?

Learn more

Practical guide

First aid for

"ENDANGERED"

Learn more

First aid for

"RELATIVES"

Learn more

First aid for

"CAREGIVERS"

Learn more
Dr. med. Michael Nehls

Since 2011, Dr. Nehls has published several books on the behavioural changes necessary for healthy ageing from his evolutionary point of view, in which he develops his own behavioural theory of Alzheimer's development and a preventive strategy based on it. In 2015, he was awarded the Hanse Prize for Psychiatry for his Alzheimer research. Michael Nehls also supports the project with his therapy guidelines for physicians.

More info...

Dr. med. Markus Bock

Dr. Bock is a physician with his own medical practice in Berlin. He is also a lecturer in neurobiology and neuropsychology at the IB University of Applied Sciences Berlin in the field of applied psychology and worked as a neuroscientist at the Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin until February 2017. Since 2007 he has been working in clinical research and between June 2011 and February 2017 in the ambulances for neuroimmunology and lipidology at the Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Among other responsibilities, he leads a study on the adapted ketogenic diet and caloric restriction in patients with multiple sclerosis and is highly skilful in various methods for characterizing cell metabolism in humans.

More info...

Ulrike Gonder

Ulrike Gonder is a graduate oecotrophologist (nutritionist) and network partner of the Academy of Human Medicine. Since 1994 she has worked as a freelance science journalist, author, speaker and lecturer and is committed to a "pleasurably critical" view of our nutrition. She regularly publishes literature studies, letters to the editor and specialist articles, ranging from topics such as nutrition in oncology and diabetes to "low carb" recipe books for beginners or ketogenic nutrition. She also deals with critical topics in the current discussion, such as in the book "Ethisch essen mit Fleisch" (Ethical eating with meat) (translation of Lierre Keith's "The Vegetarian Myth").

More info...

Maria Beatriz Harouche Vieira, MD

Maria Beatriz Harouche Vieira is a neurologist certified by the Board of the Brazilian Academy of Neurology. She worked for 9 years treating patients with neurological diseases and was team coordinator of the neurology department at Hospital Rios D'Or - Rio de Janeiro - Brazil until the end of 2015. She has a broad practical and theoretical background in the treatment of neurological diseases. She has been working with the Academy of Human Medicine since 2018 and coordinates the international part of the "Knowledge stops Dementia" project.

Dr. med. Brigitte Karner & Dr. med. Wolfgang Karner

In the Medical Practice for Prevention and Holistic Medicine, Dr. Brigitte Karner and Dr. Wolfgang Karner run the 1st Biological Alzheimer Therapy Centre in Freiburg. Based on more than 20 years of experience in the prevention and therapy of chronic diseases, the physicians have been successfully treating and advising Alzheimer's patients and their relatives since the end of 2015.

More info...

Dr. phil. Mareike Schwed

The "Neurowerkstatt", headed by sports scientists Dr. Mareike Schwed and Tobias Trost, supports people suffering from multiple sclerosis or Parkinson's disease in using their abilities in a targeted manner and develops training solutions together with them that can be implemented in their everyday lives. Dementia is a new area of development for the "Neurowerkstatt" where movement is seen as one of the key factors in maintaining and regaining mental abilities.

More info...

SPENDEN

Unterstützen Sie uns jetzt!

Kompetenz statt Demenz

Die Relevanz der Demenz wird in diesen Zahlen deutlich: 1,5-2.0 Millionen Betroffene in Deutschland, 10 Millionen in Europa und 35,5 Millionen weltweit im Jahr 2016 Prognose bis 2050: weltweit 115 Millionen. Wie lassen sich Demenz-Erkrankungen verhindern und welche Lebensstil-orientierten Behandlungsformen gibt es? Wie und wo erlange ich Kompetenz zu diesen Themen?

Mehr erfahren

Kompetenz statt Demenz

Die Relevanz der Demenz wird in diesen Zahlen deutlich: 1,5-2.0 Millionen Betroffene in Deutschland, 10 Millionen in Europa und 35,5 Millionen weltweit im Jahr 2016 Prognose bis 2050: weltweit 115 Millionen. Wie lassen sich Demenz-Erkrankungen verhindern und welche Lebensstil-orientierten Behandlungsformen gibt es? Wie und wo erlange ich Kompetenz zu diesen Themen?

Mehr erfahren

Was ist Demenz?

„Demenz“ ist ein Sammelbegriff für über 60 bisher bekannte Formen der Gedächtnisschwäche; die bekannteste und auch häufigste Form ist die „Alzheimer-Demenz“.

Mehr erfahren

Gehirn & Körper

Weder das Alter noch die Gene sind Ursache für eine Alzheimer-Erkrankung, sondern ein Defizit in verschiedenen Lebensbereichen, das sich meistens erst im Alter bemerkbar macht. Und wie hängt das alles Zusammen?

Mehr erfahren

Praktische Hilfe

Erste Hilfe für

"GEFÄHRDETE"

Mehr erfahren

Erste Hilfe für

"ANGEHÖRIGE"

Mehr erfahren

Erste Hilfe für

"PFLEGENDE"

Mehr erfahren
Dr. med. Michael Nehls

Seit 2011 hat Dr. Nehls mehrere Bücher über die aus seiner evolutionsbiologischen Sicht notwendigen Verhaltensveränderungen für ein gesundes Altern veröffentlicht, in denen er seine eigene Verhaltenstheorie der Alzheimer-Entstehung und darauf aufbauend eine Präventionsstrategie entwickelt. Für seine Alzheimer-Forschung ist ihm 2015 der Hanse-Preis für Psychiatrie verliehen worden. Michael Nehls unterstützt das Projekt inhaltlich auch mit seinem Therapieleitfaden für Ärzte.

Mehr Infos

Dr. med. Markus Bock

Dr. Bock ist Arzt mit eigener Praxis in Berlin. Er ist zudem Dozent für Neurobiologie und Neuropsychologie an der IB Hochschule Berlin im Fachbereich angewandte Psychologie und war als Neurowissenschaftler bis Februar 2017 an der Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin tätig. Seit 2007 arbeitet er in der klinischen Forschung sowie zwischen Juni 2011 und Februar 2017 in den Hochschulambulanzen für Neuroimmunologie und Lipidologie an der Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Er leitet u.a. eine Studie zur adaptierten ketogenen Diät und kalorischer Restriktion bei Patienten mit Multipler Sklerose und beherrscht verschiedene Methoden zur Charakterisierung des Zellstoffwechsels am Menschen.

Mehr Infos

Ulrike Gonder

Ulrike Gonder ist Diplom-Oecotrophologin (Ernährungswissenschaftlerin) und Netzwerkpartnerin der Akademie für menschliche Medizin. Seit 1994 arbeitet Sie selbstständig als freie Wissenschaftsjournalistin, Buchautorin, Referentin und Dozentin und engagiert sich für einen „genussvoll-kritischen“ Blick auf unsere Ernährung. Sie publiziert regelmäßig Literaturstudien, Leserbriefe und Fachartikel, angefangen über Themen wie Ernährung in der Onkologie und Diabetes bis hin zu „low carb“-Rezeptbüchern für Einsteiger oder auch zur ketogenen Ernährung. Außerdem beschäftigt Sie sich mit kritischen Themen in der aktuellen Diskussion, wie z.B. in dem Buch „Ethisch essen mit Fleisch“ (Übersetzung von Lierre Keiths „The Vegetarian Myth“).

Mehr Infos

Maria Beatriz Harouche Vieira, MD

Maria Beatriz Harouche Vieira ist eine vom Direktorium der Brasilianischen Akademie für Neurologie zertifizierte Neurologin. Sie arbeitete 9 Jahre lang in der Behandlung von Patienten mit neurologischen Erkrankungen und war bis Ende 2015 Teamkoordinatorin der neurologischen Abteilung des Krankenhauses Rios D'Or - Rio de Janeiro - Brasilien. Sie hat einen breiten praktischen und theoretischen Hintergrund in der Behandlung von neurologischen Erkrankungen. Seit 2018 arbeitet Sie mit der Akademie für menschliche Medizin zusammen und koordiniert den internationalen Teil des "Kompetenz statt Demenz" Projektes.

Mehr Infos

Dr. med. Brigitte Karner & Dr. med. Wolfgang Karner

In der Praxis für Prävention und ganzheitliche Medizin betreiben Dr. med. Brigitte Karner und Dr. med. Wolfgang Karner das 1. biologische Alzheimer-Therapiezentrum in Freiburg. Auf Basis ihrer mehr als 20-jährigen Erfahrung in der Prävention und Therapie chronischer Erkrankungen, behandeln und beraten die Mediziner dort seit Ende 2015 erfolgreich Alzheimerpatienten und deren Angehörige.

Mehr Infos

Dr. phil. Mareike Schwed

Die Neurowerkstatt unter der Leitung der Sportwissenschaftler Dr. Mareike Schwed und Tobias Trost unterstützt Menschen, die an Multiple Sklerose oder Morbus Parkinson leiden, dabei, Ihre Fähigkeiten zielführend einzusetzen und entwickelt gemeinsam mit ihnen Trainingslösungen, die sich in Ihrem Alltag umsetzen lassen. Die Demenz ist eines neues Entwicklungsgebiet für die Neurowerkstatt, wobei die Bewegung als einer der Schlüsselfaktoren für den Erhalt und die Wiedererlangung geistiger Fähigkeiten verstanden wird.

Mehr Infos

SPENDEN

Unterstützen Sie uns jetzt!