Dementia has many faces, can occur in different phases of life, can be slow or fast. There are also many different causes and dementia research is still in its infancy. In medicine, dementia is a generic term for progressive diseases of the brain. There are at least 60 subspecies alone.

Forms of dementia

The most common form is "Alzheimer's dementia", named after the Würzburg neurologist Alois Alzheimer, who first documented the course of the disease in 1906. This form of dementia is characterized by progressive brain shrinkage. The exact diagnosis of "Alzheimer's disease" cannot be made unequivocally during one's lifetime - it is therefore always only a suspected diagnosis.

More about Alzheimer's

Diagnosis

More and more studies indicate that there are multiple factors that influence the probability of dementia and the course of the disease. An important factor in the process of prevention and cure is certainly the earliest possible diagnosis of dementia. An early diagnosis increases the chance of a successful therapy, therefore it is important to show in which steps and stages the disease progresses and which early warning signals are. Until now, the diagnosis has always been a suspected or excluded diagnosis.

More about diagnosis

Progression

Depending on the origin in literature, the course of the disease is either divided into three phases or into seven stages. In the early stages, the disease is often completely reversible.

More...

Causes

Alzheimer's research has so far focused on the molecular processes in the brain that are associated with a change in brain structure. Viruses & bacteria are increasingly coming into the focus of research. The most important puzzle stone - the western lifestyle - receives far too little attention.

More about causes..

Alzheimer's research

Here we collect interesting studies and publications on various related research topics. Also for you a source for your own further education.

Research and links
SPENDEN

Unterstützen Sie uns jetzt!

Demenz hat viele Gesichter, kann in unterschiedlichen Lebensphasen auftreten, langsam oder schnell verlaufen. Ebenso gibt es viele verschiedene Ursachen und gerade hier steht die Demenzforschung noch in den Kinderschuhen. In der Medizin ist Demenz ein Oberbegriff für eine fortschreitende Erkrankungen des Gehirns. Es gibt alleine mindestens 60 Unterarten.

Formen der Demenz

Die häufigste Form ist die „Alzheimer-Demenz“, benannt nach dem Würzburger Neurologen Alois Alzheimer, der den Krankheitsverlauf 1906 erstmals dokumentierte. Diese Demenzform zeichnet sich durch eine fortschreitende Schrumpfung des Gehirns aus. Die exakte Diagnose „Alzheimer“ kann zu Lebzeiten nicht eindeutig gestellt werden – es handelt sich also immer nur um eine Verdachtsdiagnose.

Mehr zur Alzheimer Demenz

Diagnose

Immer mehr Untersuchungen deuten darauf hin, dass es multiple Faktoren gibt, die die Demenzwahrscheinlichkeit und den Krankheitsverlauf beeinflussen. Ein wichtiger Faktor auf dem Schritt der Vermeidung und Heilung ist sicherlich die möglichst frühe Diagnose der Demenz. Eine frühe Diagnose erhöht die Chance auf eine erfolgreiche Therapie, deshalb ist es wichtig, zu zeigen, in welchen Schritten und Stadien die Krankheit verläuft und welches frühe Warnsignale sind. Bisher ist die Diagnose immer eine Verdachts- oder Ausschlussdiagnose.

Mehr erfahren

Verlauf

Der Verlauf der Erkrankung wird je nach Quelle entweder in drei Phasen oder aber in sieben Stufen aufgeteilt. In den frühen Stufen ist die Erkrankung oft komplett reversibel.

Mehr erfahren

Ursachen

In der Alzheimerforschung wird der Schwerpunkt bisher auf die molekularen Abläufe im Gehirn gelegt, die mit einer Veränderung der Hirnstruktur einhergehen. Zunehmend kommen Viren & Bakterien in den Fokus der Forschung. Der wesentlichste Puzzlestein - der westliche Lebensstil - findet viel zu wenig Beachtung.

Mehr erfahren

Alzheimer Forschung

Hier sammeln wir interessante Studien und Veröffentlichungen zu verschiedenen verbundenen Forschungsthemen. Auch für Sie einen Quelle für die eigene Fortbildung.

Zu den Studien

SPENDEN

Unterstützen Sie uns jetzt!